Previous Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 3

jazzy mary
Third Love

USA
95 Posts

Posted - 14/10/2004 :  16:15:03  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Thanks for all the info, Otis. Leon sang w/ a lot of people not just Pharoah (and btw, that's ne in French if it's a man, nee if it's a woman. SOrry to be a drag, but I majored in French in college, so I always notice that sort of thing and I thought you might be happy to know the difference!

Yes, Leon was amazing. He died, of leukemia, before his time at age 62. I miss him desperately but I feel happy that I made the last few years of his life among the happiest he's ever known.
Go to Top of Page

otis robb
Third Love

50 Posts

Posted - 15/10/2004 :  01:40:50  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
jazzyman: as for MANDRILL, are you refering to CLAUDE COFFEE CAVE. The band never mentioned a Curtis! I did a very lenghthy interview with them which i hope will get published in GOLDMINE one Day! Very interesting story of how CLAUDE got into the band. Claude is an incredible keyboardist. Currently he's involved with movie soundtracks. BTW, Mandrill is recorded a brand new cd and will be bery soon releasing their DVD from their 2002 MONTRUEX Switzerland concert.
Go to Top of Page

otis robb
Third Love

50 Posts

Posted - 15/10/2004 :  01:59:43  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Mary, send me down a copy of the Village Voice so i/my wife can salivate over the jazz were missing down here in Trashville, I mean nashville. Hope the Arthur Lee show was great! REfresh my memory, were is TOWN HALL at exactly. The last time we were in NYC was in MAY 1984 to see a LAURIE ANDERSON concert which by the way got cancelled. We personally met Laurie at a booksigning in 1993(Atlanta) If you are not familar, again if one must, she would be put under the title of 'performance artist' Recommend her Big Science lp The United States 1-4 Live set, Mr. Heartbreak. Shes originally from Omaha Nebraska same birthplace as George 'Buddy'Miles.